Modernists in exile in America. From left to right: Violinist Rudolf Kolisch, conductor George Szell, Max Horkheimer, violinist Felix Khuner (squatting), Arnold Schönberg, Hanns Eisler, an unidentified person, and pianist Eduard Steuermann.

Click play for the second episode of No Sounds Are Forbidden. “Order From Chaos: Modernism and Rationality in 12 Tones,” explores the radical conservatism of Arnold Schoenberg’s 12-tone composition method, and its impact on western avant-garde music before, and after the Second World War.This episode features music by Schoenberg, Anton Webern, Alban Berg, Hanns Eisler, Luigi Dallapiccola, Igor Stravinsky, Milton Babbitt, and Donald Martino. 


Share This